Cooperative Research Seminar: USA, 2013

The EDC initiative

The first Cooperative Research Seminar (CRS) was organized at FAO in Washington DC on March 12-13, 2013, in order to kick-start the EDC initiative.


  • Florence Rolle (FAO)
  • Tom Carter (USAID)
  • Roberta Lauretti-Bernhard (NCBA-CLUSA)
  • Amy McMillen (FAO)
  • Surupa Gupta (University of Mary Washington)
  • Bettina E. Theopold (USAID)
  • Meena M. Munshi (World Bank)
  • Paul Hazen (OCDC)
  • Gabriel Laizer (FAO)
  • Nicholas T. Nelson (FAO)
  • Denis Herbel (FAO)
  • Nora OurabahHaddad (FAO)
  • Ian Cherrett (FAO/USAID consultant)
  • Gary Alex (USAID)
  • Nicola Francesconi (CIAT)

The main objectives were to:

  • gather a few donors, practitioners and researchers who had been sharing ideas and working on joint cooperative development initiatives since the launch of the International Year of Cooperatives, by the UN, in November 2011;
  • present and discuss the “Cooperative Life Cycle Framework” developed by Prof. Michael Cook from the University of Missouri (see the ppt presentation below);
  • present and discuss the proposal developed by FAO, CIAT, OCDC and USAID to launch the EDC initiative.


Download ppt presentation

Copyright © 2016, CTA. Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation

CTA is a joint institution operating under the framework of the Cotonou Agreement between the ACP Group of States (Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific) and the EU Member States (European Union). CTA is funded by the European Union.